The Ritz Herald
U.S. Rep. Brenda Lawrence (D-Southfield), U.S. Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm, FRIB Director Thomas Glasmacher, MSU President Samuel L. Stanley, Jr. and U.S. Sen. Gary Peters (D-Bloomfield Twp.) speak to media following the ribbon-cutting ceremony for MSU’s Facility for Rare Isotope Beams in East Lansing, May 2, 2022. © Laina G. Stebbins

Secretary Granholm Visited Michigan to Announce $3.16 Billion for Domestic Battery Production and Tout Benefits of American Manufacturing

Granholm, the former governor of Michigan, emphasized the need nationwide to invest in nuclear power

Published on May 05, 2022

U.S. Secretary of Energy Jennifer M. Granholm traveled to Michigan on Tuesday to highlight the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law’s investments in domestic manufacturing to accelerate the clean energy transition and meet President Biden’s climate goals.

Secretary Granholm first traveled to East Lansing where she participated in a ribbon cutting to unveil the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB), funded by the Department’s Office of Science, at Michigan State University. She was joined by Michigan Governor Gretchen Whitmer, U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow (MI) and Gary Peters (MI), and U.S. Representatives Elissa Slotkin (MI-08), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14), and Tim Walberg (MI-07). The group praised the facility for its future work to boost the nation’s innovative capacity and global competitiveness while playing pivotal role in making America the global leader in rare isotope nuclear science research.

Secretary Granholm then finished the day by traveling to Detroit where she announced two funding opportunities, authorized by the Bipartisan Infrastructure Law, totaling $3.16 billion to boost American battery manufacturing and recycling, and strengthen domestic supply chains. The Secretary made the announcement at Focus: HOPE, a non-profit organization specializing in community and workforce development to overcome racism, poverty and injustice within the city of Detroit. She was joined by U.S Representative Debbie Dingell (MI-12), AFL-CIO Industrial Union Council Executive Director Brad Markell, UAW Vice President Cindy Estrada and President of Michigan Energy Innovation Council Laura Sherman.

Assistant Managing Editor